nl | en | fr
 0
 

What is the Race for the Cure®?

The Race for the Cure® is world's largest and most successful education and fundraising event for breast cancer ever created. Nancy G. Brinker promised her sister, Susan, that she would make an end to the disease which cost her her life: breast cancer. In 1982 she founded Susan G. Komen for the Cure, and already in 1983 Dallas was the setting for the first Race for the Cure®. This way she wanted to commemorate her sister and support other survivors. It appeared an unexpected success, as in 2017, over 140 Races will take place worldwide with approximately one million participants.

Survivors occupy the central stage

Each Race for the Cure® brings survivors, family and friends together and creates more breast health awareness. During the Race for the Cure®, survivors celebrate their victory over breast cancer. Participants support their loved ones in their fight against the most widespread form of cancer among women, and they commemorate all those who lost the fight.

Pink power

Worldwide the Race for the Cure® stands for the same impressive image: survivors in a pink T-shirt, surrounded by their entourage in a white T-shirt.

See you in Namur, Brussels and Antwerp

Think-Pink organises three editions of the Race for the Cure® every year, in Namur, Brussels and Antwerp. Most Races take place in the United States, including Paradise Island in the Bahamas and Puerto Rico. But also cities like Athens, Brescia, Sarajevo, Bucharest, Tbilisi, Bari, Bologna, Rome and Dar-es-Salaam are settings for the Races for the Cure®.

nl | en | fr
 0
 

La Race for the Cure, c'est quoi?

La Race for the Cure est le plus grand événement au monde dans la lutte contre le cancer du sein. Nancy G. Brinker a promis à sa sœur Susan de faire disparaitre la maladie qui lui a arraché sa vie: le cancer du sein. Elle mit alors en place « Susan G. Komen for the cure » en 1982, et en 1983 organisa à Dallas la première édition de la Race for the Cure. De cette manière, elle commémore la vie de sa sœur et encourage les personnes souffrant de la même maladie. Cela a été un succès inattendu, si bien même qu' aujourd'hui on trouve plus de 100 villes participantes avec plus d’un million de personnes qui se joignent à l'événement.

Les victorieux(ses) au centre de l'événement

Chaque Race for the Cure réunit les victorieux(ses), leur famille et leurs amis, etattire plus d'attention sur le cancer du sein. Les victorieux(ses) fêtent la vie et leur victoire contre le cancer du sein. Les autres participants soutiennent leurs proches dans leur lutte contre le cancer le plus fréquent chez les femmes en Belgique. Ensemble, ils commémorent ceux qui ont perdu la lutte.

Force rose et support blanc

Partout dans le monde, la Race for the Cure garantit la même image impressionnante: les victorieux (ses) portent un t-shirt rose et leur entourage qui les soutient en t-shirt blanc.

Rendez-vous à Namur, Bruxelles et Anvers

Think-Pink organise chaque année trois éditions en Belgique: Namur, Brussels et Anvers. La plupart des Races for the Cure prennent place aux États-Unis. Il y a également des éditions à Paradise Island aux Bahamas et à Puerto Rico. Plus près des Races sont organisées dans des villes comme Athènes, Brescia, Sarajevo, Bucarest, Tbilisi, Bari, Bologne, Rome et Dar-es-Salaam.